What are the two classes of fish?

Fishes are typically divided into three groups: superclass Agnatha (jawless fishes), class Chondrichthyes (cartilaginous fishes), and superclass Osteichthyes (bony fishes). The latter two groups are included within the infraphylum Gnathostomata, a category containing all jawed vertebrates.

What are the fish classes?

Jawless eel-like fishes, many of which are parasitic-like.

  • Superclass Gnathostomata – Jawed Fishes. …
  • Jawed Fishes – Class Chondrichthyes/Cartilaginous Fishes. …
  • Jawed Fishes – Class Actinopterygii/Ray-finned Fishes. …
  • Jawed Fishes – Class Sarcopterygii/Lobe-finned Fishes.

How many classes of fish are there?

There are about 28,000 existing species of fish, and they are placed in five classes: hagfish, lampreys, cartilaginous fish, ray-finned bony fish, and lobe-finned bony fish.

What animal class is a fish?

Fishes are included in the class Pisces of the Phylum Vertebrata. Fish classification is big and it depends on the type of bone as cartilagenous or ossified. Each species is classified upto order, suborder and species and sometimes to subspecies level.

What are the two classes of jawless fish?

There are two categories of jawless fish: hagfish and lampreys. Hagfish usually feed on dead or dying fish. These fish can be found around the tunnels they dig in muddy bottoms, in moderate depths and cold waters. Scientists only know of about 20 species of hagfish worldwide.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Is there such a thing as fish leather?

Which is the oldest class of fish?

Lesson Summary

The oldest class of fish, the Superclass Agnatha, includes lampreys and hagfish. Unlike the agnathans, the fish in the chondrichthyes class have jaws made of cartilage; these fish include sharks, rays, and chimaeras.

What is the collective name for a group of fish?

The most common collective nouns for a group of fish in general are school and shoal. Both the words have evolved from the same common Dutch root ‘schole’ meaning a troop or crowd.

How many classes are in animal kingdom?

The following is a list of the classes in each phylum of the kingdom Animalia. There are 107 classes of animals in 33 phyla in this list.

How are hagfish and lampreys different?

Hagfish is an eel-like slime producing marine jawless fish while lamprey is an eel-like jawless fish that lives in coastal and freshwaters. Hagfish does not possess vertebra while lamprey has vertebra. Hence, hagfish is not considered as a vertebrate while lamprey is a vertebrate.

What is the class of a jawless fish?

Super Class: Agnatha

Agnatha are jawless fish. Lampreys and hagfish are in this class. Members of the agnatha class are probably the earliest vertebrates.

Do hagfish and lampreys have fins?

Lampreys, Hagfishes, Interactions With Humans

Lampreys and hagfishes lack the scales typical of most fish, and are covered with a slimy mucous. These animals have an elongated, eel-like shape, and do not have any paired fins on their sides.