What are the different classes of fish?

What are the 5 classes of fish?

Classification of Fish:

  • Agnatha – jawless fish.
  • Chrondrichthyes – cartilaginous fish.
  • Osteichthyes – bony fish. Ray finned group. Lobe finned group.

What are the 7 levels of classification for a fish?

This hierarchical system moves from largest and most general to smallest and most specific: kingdom, phylum, class, order, family, genus, and species.

How many classes of fish are there?

There are about 28,000 existing species of fish, and they are placed in five classes: hagfish, lampreys, cartilaginous fish, ray-finned bony fish, and lobe-finned bony fish.

What are the 4 classes of marine fish?


  • Class Agnatha (jawless fish) Subclass Cyclostomata (hagfish and lampreys) …
  • Class Chondrichthyes (cartilaginous fish) Subclass Elasmobranchii (sharks and rays) …
  • Class Placodermi (armoured fish) †
  • Class Acanthodii (“spiny sharks”, sometimes classified under bony fishes)†
  • Class Osteichthyes (bony fish)

What are the 3 main classes of fish?

Fishes are typically divided into three groups: superclass Agnatha (jawless fishes), class Chondrichthyes (cartilaginous fishes), and superclass Osteichthyes (bony fishes). The latter two groups are included within the infraphylum Gnathostomata, a category containing all jawed vertebrates.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How old is fish out of Marillion?

What is class Pisces?

Pisces, a class of vertebrates comprising the true fishes, have the jaws supported by a skeleton derived from primitive gill arches. Typically, they have two sets of paired fins, pectoral and pelvic, as well as dorsal, caudal, and anal fins in the midline.

What class is an angelfish?

Many fishes are able to change their colour of the body because of the migration of the pigment within the chromatophore. ADVERTISEMENTS: The pigment granules may disperse throughout the cell or aggregate in the centre to give different tone and pattern to the fish.

What class is tilapia fish?

Data Quality Indicators:

Class Teleostei
Superorder Acanthopterygii
Order Perciformes – perch-like fishes
Suborder Labroidei – parrotfishes, rainbowfishes, wrasses, labres, poissons-perroquets
Family Cichlidae – cichlids, cichlidés, tilapias y mojarras de agua dulce

What is the oldest class of fish?

Lesson Summary

The oldest class of fish, the Superclass Agnatha, includes lampreys and hagfish. Unlike the agnathans, the fish in the chondrichthyes class have jaws made of cartilage; these fish include sharks, rays, and chimaeras.

What are the 10 most popular fish?

10 Most Popular Fish Make Up 90% of Volume

Shrimp 4.0 Shrimp
Canned Tuna 2.7 Canned Tuna
Salmon 1.999 Salmon
Tilapia 1.450 Alaska Pollock
Alaska Pollock 1.192 Tilapia

What’s a group of fish is called?

Why is a group of fish called a ‘school’?

Some fish tend to swim in groups in order to protect themselves from their predators. … The most common collective nouns for a group of fish in general are school and shoal. Both the words have evolved from the same common Dutch root ‘schole’ meaning a troop or crowd.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you store fishing magnets?

What are the two classes of fish in which class is the shark?

The sharks, rays, and chimaeras make up the second group of fish, the Class Chondrichthyes. Sharks are one of the earliest known jawed fishes.

What are the classification of fish based on habitat?

(a) Based on their Habitat:

Fishes live either in fresh water or salt water. Fresh Water Fishes: This is water that has no salt e.g. rivers, streams, ponds, springs, etc. the fishes present are trout, pire, carp, perch, tilapia, mudfish, catfish. Freshwater fishes cannot survive in saltwater.