Anglers do not need licenses to fish at Mustang Island State Park, but this is just one of the reasons you should consider casting out along these waters. There are two large fishing jetties at the end of Water Exchange Pass, one of which extends well out into the Gulf of Mexico.
Where can I fish without a license in Texas?
Free fishing applies to fishing in rivers and creeks, from bank or pier. You can also wade fish in the surf along the shore of our coastal state parks. You may be able to fish for free from a boat on lakes or ponds that are fully enclosed in a state park.
Where can I fish on Mustang Island?
The flats at the southeastern corner of Corpus Christi Bay are called the Mustang Island Elbow or the Mustang Island Flats. It is a sandy bottom and protection from the prevailing southeast winds make it a popular location for gigging flounder. It is also good wade fishing for trout and flounder all year.
Do I need a fishing license in Texas state parks?
Fishing in State Parks
A fishing license and endorsement are not required if fishing on state park property or in waters completely enclosed by a state park. … Please check with the park before participating in any fishing activity and to confirm any additional regulations.
Does Mustang Island have clear water?
Water clarity on the Mustang Island coast varies due to wind conditions. We have many clear water days where you can see schools of fish in the waves, and beautiful sandy shores. … The waters off the Barrier Islands across from Corpus Christi are generally very clean.
How much is the fine for fishing without a license in Texas?
Failure to pay the civil recovery value will result in the department’s refusal to issue a license, tag or permit. Hunting or fishing after failing or refusing to pay civil restitution is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a $500 – $4,000 fine; punishment in jail (not to exceed one year); or both.
What day is free fishing in Texas?
Although June 5 is designated as Free Fishing Day in Texas, fishing is free year-round at every Texas State Park.
When can you fish in Texas without a license?
Texas requires fishing licenses of persons 17 and older fishing in public waters of the state. Those under 17, resident or nonresident, are exempt from fishing-license requirements. Texas also exempts residents born before Jan. 1, 1931 from the requirement to hold a valid fishing license to fish in public waters.
Are there sharks in Redfish Bay?
In contrast, shark species are commonly found in Mesquite Bay, Cedar Bayou, and at the southern end of Aransas and Redfish bays where the salinity range is close to Gulf of Mexico water (30-35 ppt).
How do you catch redfish?
If you want to know how to catch big redfish, live baits like mullet, croakers and mud minnows are the top presentation. “In early fall, mullet congregate around the jetties for their spawn, coinciding with the bull reds running. Typically, a 4- to 8-inch mullet works, but it’s a trade-off.
Can you fish from the beach in Port Aransas?
Shore fishing in Port Aransas draws both die hard anglers and novices who take to the beach or jetty with pole and bait to see how their luck will play out that day. Shore fishing requires only basic equipment, a pole, line, reel, tackle, and bait or lures.
How much is a fishing license at Walmart in Texas?
How much is a fishing license at Walmart 2020? A single-day license for a resident or non-resident $11. Yearly fishing license for a non-resident $40.